Eatin’ Good

Almost every morning my mom would see my fast food bags and wrappers piled up in the trash from my drunken night before and issue me a warning, “alright, you better stop eating like that, especially as you get older.” I didn’t think anything of it but like always, she was right. I’ve been small all my life so I had the “I eat what I want” mentality- thinking that my weight would be the only thing that could change by overeating and constantly scarfing down junk food. 

After my college graduation I moved back home for nearly two years and unfortunately spent most of that time fighting the post-grad blues by partying, getting drawnk, and binging on fast food. So when I finally landed a decent job, all that malnutrition and sleep deprivation caught up with me. I was always sluggish and finally I got tired of it– it’s true, you are what you eat. healthy-people-woman-girl

I knew something had to change but I wasn’t quite ready to give up my party girl lifestyle yet so I tried changing my diet. I figured if I could eat less greasy, fatty and salty crap, I would feel less worn out. I’ve always loved veggies and was already eating a lot of vegetarian dishes since I lived with a vegan. But I wasn’t quite ready to give up some of my favorite foods which happen to be seafood. I did some research and found a typical pescetarian diet which was perfect for me. Most of my family doesn’t eat pork so staying away from the swine was painless. Beef was a little harder since burger joints were always open during my late night party hops but I still managed to drop it. Chicken turned out to be a lot easier to give up than I thought since it was easy to replace with seafood in most dishes and I got the same satisfaction of fried chicken with fried fish.

Within a few short weeks of my new diet, I was feeling lighter and more energized. No longer did I feel like a soggy, gravy soaked biscuit.

Unfortunately, about a month later, I was back to my carnivorous ways. I tried to resume to my diet but it was too late. Months passed.

But luckily, as the year came to an end and I prepared to make my big move to Florida, I found it was the perfect time to get back on track. On January 1, 2015 I went back to my pescetarian diet and haven’t fell off the boat since.

I love that I made the change even though it’s painfully annoying that everybody feels the need to tell me they “could never give up meat,” or turn their noses up at the meat alternatives I eat. They only see the surface– my “skinny self” eating healthy as if that’s not allowed for slim people. But it’s more than a diet change, it’s a lifestyle change. It didn’t only make me feel better physically, it has helped me mentally. I now have more willpower and am a lot more disciplined when it comes to other aspects of my life. Even enough so that I was able to break my terrible soda addiction.

My goal is to bring in 2017 as a full vegetarian and completely eliminate fast food and the millions of straw wrappers and napkins hidden throughout my car.

Minnie

Follow me on Instagram and Twitter!

Leave a comment